奧克尼群島渡輪

奧克尼群島渡輪乘客和車船票

奧克尼群島渡輪機票預訂,輪渡時間表和乘客信息奧克尼群島渡輪往返與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯的奧克尼島渡輪港口。

預訂奧克尼群島渡輪門票從未如此簡單,比較所有奧克尼群島渡輪的價格實時預訂最便宜的奧克尼群島船票往返與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯的奧克尼島的渡輪港口在線即時確認。

乘渡輪旅行到奧克尼群島渡輪是一種快速,簡便,無壓力的方式到那裡,然後再返回。 預訂便宜的奧克尼群島的船票,並從與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯的奧克尼島渡輪港口在線和享受更多的選擇和靈活性。

對所有班次,並從柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪包括有關目的地我們詳細的路線上的渡輪港口信息和有用的旅遊信息的奧克尼島的渡輪港口最新的奧克尼群島渡輪橫渡信息和時間表和城市地圖將幫助你繪製你的奧克尼群島渡輪擺渡的旅程。

如果是旅遊與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯的奧克尼島渡輪港口,然後預定渡口到奧克尼群島渡輪和您的目的地神清氣爽,心曠神怡到達。

奧克尼群島渡輪提供了絕妙的票價,並從連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪渡輪港口柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯的奧克尼島渡輪港口。

比較,圖書和www.ferryto.com少付船票
自定義搜索
 
 | 輪渡公司 | 路線 | 端口 | 時刻表 |  | 貨物 | 假日 | 飯店 | Q&A   

奧克尼群島渡輪
門票價格及預訂


本書奧克尼群島渡輪航線
並從柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪在線的奧克尼島的渡輪港口提前享受最便宜的船票價格。

你看到的價格是你付出的代價。 有沒有隱藏的額外或意外,如添加燃油附加費或收取預訂費用,我們不收取任何額外與Visa Electron卡支付。 我們引用您選擇的奧克尼群島渡輪航線價格,船上的住宿和車輛類型是所有你將付出,這是一個承諾。

為了獲得奧克尼群島的船票價格和預訂船票 在線安全請使用左側的實時輪渡預訂表格。

更多關於奧克尼群島

奧克尼 已經砸出它的鼓舞人心的重量誰影響了更廣闊的世界之上的方式。

冒險家,探險家,海盜,作家和藝術家是誰已經在世界各地取得他們的名字Orcadians之一。

憑藉其溫和的氣候,肥沃的綠地和迷人的海岸線,奧克尼是大自然愛好者一年四季的天堂。

每個季節都有自己的魅力和美麗從海鳥吵著在懸崖上冬季的短短幾天夏天無盡的日子,土地是免費參觀,你可以享受溫暖的爐火安靜或舒適的彌補了傳統Orcadian評書會話。

獨特的動物生活在這裡,包括奧克尼田鼠,而稀有植物在無污染的空氣茁壯成長。 大自然是你周圍的一切在Orkney。

鰓灣,奧克尼
主要中心在奧克尼

雖然由年過七旬的島嶼奧克尼的居民和buisinesses主要都是基於主要島嶼之一。

奧克尼柯克沃爾
奧克尼的首都擁有充滿活力的獨立商舖,並在其許多旅館和酒吧的熱鬧的夜生活。 這也是整個大陸奧克尼公交線路和港口,搭乘渡船前往香港仔,設得蘭群島和北小島交通樞紐。 柯克沃爾機場,前往蘇格蘭設得蘭群島在夏季,挪威,距離鎮中心不到三英里。

主要的購物街是為那些誰主張自由連鎖店鋪的聖地,它炒股你的精品時裝,設計師品牌和本地設計的服裝所需要的一切到CD和DVD首飾,戶外服裝,麵包和蛋糕,麻,樂器,家居用品和鞋子。 私人擁有的雜貨店與已經在很大程度上在英國其他地方消失了一個類型的個性化服務,股票當地農產品和國際美食。 工匠麵包店,肉店,藥店,銀行和幾家咖啡館加進來。 用石板兩旁風景如畫長的主要街道,距離海港蛇下來,從橋街道更名為阿爾伯特街寬街,因為它去。

在它的心臟,對柯克綠色代表宏偉聖馬格努斯大教堂附近時是伯爵與主教的宮殿和奧克尼博物館Tankerness房子其燦爛的花園。“ 在進行跌幅收窄維多利亞街有更多的商店和咖啡館。

在古代巴勒的邊緣有三個超市和與它的健身和健康套房Pickaquoy中心,戶外運動場,咖啡廳,新鳳凰電影院和會議室。 奧克尼群島理事會總部設在柯克沃爾在學校廣場。 此外,還有一個拍賣市場和工業地產在Hatston。 有幾個地點在鎮的性能,包括戲劇,社區和教堂大廳,酒店多功能廳和Pickaquoy中心。

柯克沃爾追溯到北歐倍,在11th世紀,當它被稱為Kirkjuvagr(海灣教堂)。 當時的海水拍打在大教堂的台階上,但現在很多土地被開墾。 在1486柯克沃爾被授予皇家自治都市地位蘇格蘭國王詹姆斯第三節。

奧克尼斯特羅姆內斯
古樸的關閉和歷史價值的石頭建築之間的狹窄擠老街是斯特羅姆內斯的喜悅。 奧克尼的第二大鎮是一個建築瑰寶,激發藝術家和作家,並與遊客的最愛。 這些誰在奧克尼從斯克拉布斯特瑟索附近的渡輪抵達進行處理,以石鎮的碼頭,nousts,商店和房屋梯田的最佳視角,觀看了由Brinkie的Brae的山上。 像柯克沃爾,斯特羅姆內斯有一個“街道”,通過鎮蜿蜒,沿途更改其名稱。 從北方它貫穿渡路,維多利亞街,格雷厄姆廣場,登打士街,阿爾弗雷德街,紹森德和尼斯道。 查找出開伯爾山口,Hellihole和Rae的關閉,北極探險家約翰·雷伊博士的名字命名,去上山。

這可能是附庸風雅的人群和慶祝活動的市民的天堂,但斯特羅姆內斯也是有用和有趣的商店和居住,工作和娛樂所需的所有設施的工作小鎮。 這是一個繁忙的潛水目的地,一些公司提供潛水章程。 並日益斯特羅姆內斯在奧克尼郡的開拓可再生能源行業的最前沿與設在鎮上的公司和大學的學生。 其他行業包括貝類加工和一家麵包店和軟糖工廠。

據馬偕布朗,後期基於斯特羅姆內斯詩人和作家,在全鎮第一個房子是在其上授予1580憲章的Cairston岸邊的旅館。 Hamnavoe的避風港增長作為17th歐洲戰爭期間港口和商船鎮19th這使得英吉利海峽危險的世紀。 船舶,包括庫克船長發現和解決叫做1780和約翰·富蘭克林爵士他致命去北極旅行之前要求收回。 哈德遜灣公司的船舶發生在男性,糧食和水在登錄井在18th和19th世紀和北極捕鯨船從東海岸港口城市也參加了男子在格陵蘭島和冰島的鯨業。 斯特羅姆內斯著名居民包括畫家斯坦利爵士Cursiter,伊莎貝爾岡恩誰加入女扮男裝和伊麗莎弗雷澤誰在澳大利亞遇船難者的HBC。 沃爾特·斯科特爵士基於幾個對他Stromnessians豐富多彩的虛構人物。

奧克尼西大陸
奧克尼的西大陸是家庭奧克尼新石器時代聯合國教科文組織世界遺產之心這是在英國的考古遺跡​​中最重要的領域之一。 這裡有Brodgar和Stenness和梅肖韋古墓墓室中環著名的立石。 從斯特羅姆內斯附近的黑克雷格的懸崖高達Birsay的布拉夫的潮汐歷史島西部海岸風暴抨擊和令人驚嘆的海景棧,洞穴,高聳的懸崖,斯卡拉布雷的新石器時代的村落,並在Skaill華麗的沙灘灣。 十里濱海步行道發生在所有網站。 從這裡看日落是有口皆碑的。 內陸有褐鱒魚的湖泊,沼澤地的鳥類儲備和國際重要濕地,在邦臣米爾斯奧克尼的唯一的工作水磨,Birsay和幾個村莊社區商店和茶室。 許多工匠在該地區有自己的工作室。

奧克尼茶室很受歡迎,高品質的,許多提供午餐,家庭烘烤和下午茶。 近Orphir村與維京的教堂和農莊是Houton的渡輪碼頭汽車渡輪Lyness在霍伊。 商店和社區中心等村莊Harray,Dounby,Finstown和伊維,倫德爾和Twatt較為分散的社區。 桑威克的教區還與農場和鄉村別墅傳播出去。 Kirbuster和Corrigall的兩個農場博物館在西方也。 Birsay有一家店,茶室,附近的酒店和伯爵宮的遺址,一旦羅伯特·斯圖爾特,奧克尼伯爵,一個同父異母的弟弟到瑪麗一世國一堆。 他的兒子帕特里克,在當地被稱為黑八,加入到建設。 他在1615叛國罪已處死。

潮時間張貼在站點和遊客信息中心 - Birsay的布拉夫可以步行通過堤道兩個小時退潮兩側進行訪問。 它有皮克特建築的痕跡,一個海盜修道院和燈塔的遺跡。

奧克尼內地東
這柯克沃爾地區東部和東南部很牛的國家,它的低窪良田。 它可能沒有世界遺產,但有很多歷史遺跡和迷人的村莊探索。

聖安德魯斯教區有一個用得好,社區會堂和充滿活力的學校。 附近的大廳內,礦豪是一個土堆下面一家私人擁有的古沉船室。 您可以下降到神秘的地下空間沿著陡峭的石梯。 考古學家猜測這是由溝包圍室的目的。

Tankerness面積有看到海豹和鳥類,如北極燕鷗良好的海灘,和Tankerness的湖在哪裡蠣鷸,田鳧和麻鷸犬種。 在Tankerness青銅時代的土堆2007一個燒焦的榛子殼的發現是在奧克尼石器時代活動的令人興奮的證據,並追溯至6820-BC 6660。

在路上Deerness半島是Dingieshowe,沙質地峽,其中一個土堆是一個海盜議會的網站,被稱為婷。 Deerness有一家商店和住宅分散。 開車到停車場在Gloup,你可以看到這個噴水孔,然後步行到Deerness的布拉夫,如果你能勇敢的狹窄懸崖軌道早日修道院教堂和廢墟的現場。 攜帶壯觀的懸崖道路,到達馬爾頭,一個風景優美的海岬擁擠在夏季與第一次世界大戰射擊範圍海鳥。 再進一步上是盟約“豎立誰被運到美洲殖民地,並失去了生命,當他們在被200 1679失事宗教囚犯的內存紀念塔。 更多的軌道可以遵循一個圓形的路線回到停車場。

在路上回柯克沃爾是聖瑪麗在霍爾姆這對鯡魚產業繁榮的垂釣中心海港村。 它現在北海的丘吉爾障礙切斷。

奧克尼南部羅納
柯克沃爾外最大的解決在東邊是聖瑪格麗特南羅納,奧克尼第三大和解希望的迷人的海港村。 在這裡,雙體渡輪運行到吉爾灣附近的約翰·O'粹粒。 有一個藝術畫廊和工藝品店,飯店,一個屢獲殊榮的餐廳,一個高爾夫球場和威廉Hourston的Smiddy博物館。 電影和活報劇在克羅馬蒂大廳經常穿。 八月男孩'犁賽和馬節舉行。 有溫柔的沙灘海灣附近的金沙O'賴特和Herston。 在HOXA頭可以跨斯卡帕灣看Flotta的島,並可能會看到海豚經過。

的'希望'南至於你可以去為Burwick碼頭在那裡你可以乘坐渡輪腳約翰o在夏天的碎粒。 這裡也是老鷹墓,新石器時代古墓墓室這是在一個農場中發現。 這個家族擁有的遊客中心提供的時候可以做一個驚人的沿海道路墓,其中鷹的爪子,發現墓葬當中用自己的方式處理前的文物溫馨的談話。 還有一個青銅時代燒毀土堆。

南羅納是聯南三島,這是由人為堤道相互連接之一,丘吉爾障礙,在第二次世界大戰期間由意大利戰俘的戰爭建成。 鏈接的小島是格利姆斯霍爾姆島,著Burray和羔羊霍爾姆 - 意大利著名教堂的所在地,內部的兩個尼森小屋創造的藝術作品。

奧克尼著Burray
著Burray是一個小島,由丘吉爾障礙聯繫到奧克尼和南部羅納的東部大陸。 一旦只船和農業和漁業社區的訪問,它現在由堤道相連。 它擁有大約350,一所小​​學,商店,酒店,港口,其中其他水上活動提供人口。 著Burray有美麗的沙灘,整個斯卡帕灣的美景,水獺和海豹有時可以從周圍的第四阻擋看到。

該化石著Burray和遺產中心坐落在古老的農場建築是個迷人的地方參觀。 從奧克尼和世界各地的化石顯示,一些360億年的歷史。 商店貨品大範圍的關於這個問題,寶石,珠寶和玩具的書。 該系列是由歐內斯特·弗斯誰發現的化石在他的採石場開始。 樓上是遺產中心,這是為本地文檔的重要檔案,從1821著Burray普查記錄1901和照片。 有通過Orcadians使用的對象顯示和家具,包括床盒裝。 有一個愛德華七世時代的房間的重建,展示了如何一個典型的奧克尼的房子可能會在早期1900s看過,與家人周圍的泥炭火結算。

社區咖啡館提供精彩homebakes。 該中心是在夏季開放。

文化是生活在奧克尼方式 並帶來了成千上萬的遊客每年享受的節日,博物館和藝術畫廊。

有全年的許多個月,國際知名的音樂,藝術,講座和演出活動的打包計劃。 事件如巴“在聖誕節和元旦和馬八月節比賽是相當獨特的眼鏡。

獲獎畫廊和博物館也磁鐵到我們的文化愛好者海岸。

奧克尼群島

奧克尼 70左右島嶼的群島分散在與20有人居住的島嶼質樸的海洋,每個都有自己的鮮明個性。

探索渡輪或飛機穿越歷史,自然風光和文化,而民俗島為他們的熱情歡迎遊客和新移民聞名的冒險之旅。

北方群島有緊密的社區,從農業著名的北羅納羊朝著維斯特芮能源自給工作生活的獨特的方式。

而在南三島,Flotta的是著名的石油和霍伊其侵略歷史,hillwalking和老人的岩石堆。

計劃渡輪服務 通過操作 彭特蘭連接北部渡輪 大陸和奧克尼群島之間航行。

連接北部渡輪勒威克設得蘭群島,Hatston碼頭柯克沃爾和阿伯丁之間航行。 較短的選項是連接北部斯克拉布斯特來斯特羅姆內斯(90分鐘)的路線。 一個更快的選擇又是從吉爾灣,約翰附近彭特蘭渡輪雙體船O'粹粒聖瑪格麗特希望在南羅納(1小時)。

第三個渡輪營辦商,約翰奧格羅茨,提供一個跨島觀光渡輪服務。

點擊這裡 預訂奧克尼島的船票 地圖奧克尼群島

 


最優惠的奧克尼群島渡輪票價出示擔保

最好的奧克尼群島船票價格保證

最低價格保證 - 我們始終為您提供我們的最低奧克尼群島的船票價格,有沒有隱藏的額外或意外,如添加燃油附加費或收預訂費,我們也我們不收取您任何額外的東西與Visa Electron卡支付。 我們引用您選擇的奧克尼群島渡輪或從柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪,Orkney的島的渡輪港口船上住宿和車輛類型的價格是你將付出,這是一個承諾!

萬一你找到相同的全包奧克尼群島的船票在任何其他旅遊經營者,我們承諾,我們將盡最大努力擊敗的價格或為您提供申請退款的選擇的小冊子便宜。 要預訂奧克尼群島渡輪票,請 點擊這裡.

 

點擊此處聯繫的奧克尼群島渡輪的客戶服務團隊ferryto.com

客戶服務,電話銷售及聯絡我們

在ferryto.com 您可以在我們的最低機票獲得現場奧克尼群島的船票價格,查詢和預訂奧克尼群島渡輪車和乘客船票往返柯克沃爾,聖瑪格麗特希望和斯特羅姆內斯與連接北部和彭特蘭渡輪的奧克尼島的渡輪港口價錢。

Ferryto.com是世界上最大的在線船票分銷網絡遍布英國,法國,西班牙,愛爾蘭,荷蘭,東歐提供預訂超過80歐洲主要渡輪營辦商包括奧克尼群島渡輪超過1,200渡輪航線的能力的一部分,地中海,波羅的海和北非。

欲了解更多信息,回答常見問題,或直接與我們聯繫,請 點擊這裡.

 

 
網站地圖

設計和託管環球通過休閒有限公司。. 保留版權。

搭載了旅遊門戶

Orkney Islands Ferry

Orkney Islands Ferry Passenger and Car Ferry Tickets

Orkney Islands Ferry ticket reservations, ferry timetables and passenger information for Orkney Islands Ferry sailing to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries.

Booking a Orkney Islands Ferry tickets has never been easier, compare all Orkney Islands Ferry prices in real time and book the cheapest available Orkney Islands Ferry tickets to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries online with instant confirmation.

Travelling to Orkney Islands Ferry by ferry is a quick, easy and stress free way to get there and back again. Book your cheap Orkney Islands Ferry tickets to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries online and enjoy more choice and flexibility.

With the latest Orkney Islands Ferry crossing information and timetables for all sailings to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries including information on the ferry ports and useful tourist information about the destinations our detailed route and city maps will help you plot your Orkney Islands Ferry ferry journey.

If are travelling to the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries then book a ferry crossing to Orkney Islands Ferry and arrive at your destination refreshed, relaxed and happy.

Orkney Islands Ferry offers fantastic fares to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries ferry ports.

Compare, book and pay less for ferry tickets at www.ferryto.com
Custom Search
Home | Ferry Companies | Routes | Ports | Timetables | Groups | Freight | Holiday | Hotel | Q&A   

Orkney Islands Ferry
Ticket Prices & Reservations

Book Orkney Islands Ferry tickets
to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries online in advance to enjoy the cheapest available ferry ticket price.

The price you see is the price you pay. There are no hidden extras or surprises such as added fuel surcharges or booking fees and we do not charge you anything extra for paying with a Visa Electron card. The price we quote you for your selected Orkney Islands Ferry route, onboard accommodation and vehicle type is all you will pay, and that's a promise.

To obtain a Orkney Islands Ferry ticket price and book your ferry ticket securely online please use the real time ferry booking form on the left.

More About the Orkney Islands

Orkney has punched way above its weight in inspirational people who have influenced the wider world.

Adventurers, explorers, pirates, writers and artists are among the Orcadians who have made their names around the world.

With its mild climate, fertile green land and stunning coastline, Orkney is a paradise for nature lovers all year round.

Every season has its own charm and beauty from the endless days of summer with seabirds clamouring on the cliffs to the short days of winter when the land is free of visitors and you can enjoy the quietness or cosy up by a roaring fire for traditional Orcadian storytelling sessions.

Unique animals live here, including the Orkney vole, while rare plants thrive in the pollution-free air. Nature is all around you in Orkney.

Gills Bay, Orkney
Main Centres in Orkney

Although consisting of over seventy islands Orkney's residents and buisinesses are mainly all based on one of the main islands.

Orkney Kirkwall
The capital of Orkney has vibrant independent shops and a lively night life in its many hotels and bars. It is also a transport hub for bus routes across mainland Orkney and the port for ferries to Aberdeen, Shetland and the North Isles. Kirkwall Airport with links to Scotland, Shetland and in the summer, Norway, is less than three miles from the town centre.

The main shopping street is a mecca for those who favour chain-free shops and it stocks everything you need from boutique fashions, designer brands and locally designed clothing to CDs and DVDs to jewellery, outdoor clothing, bread and cakes, linen, musical instruments, household goods and shoes. Privately owned grocery stores with personal service of a type that has largely disappeared elsewhere in Britain, stock local produce and international favourites. Artisan bakeries, butchers, chemists, banks and several cafes add to the mix. The picturesque long main street lined with flagstones snakes down from the harbour, changing its name from Bridge Street to Albert Street to Broad Street as it goes.

At its heart, on the Kirk Green stands the magnificent St Magnus Cathedral while nearby are the Earl's and Bishop's palaces and the Orkney Museum in Tankerness House with its splendid gardens.' Carrying on down narrow Victoria Street there are more shops and cafes.

On the edge of the ancient burgh there are three supermarkets and the Pickaquoy Centre with its fitness and health suites, outdoor sports pitches, a café, the New Phoenix Cinema and meeting rooms. Orkney Islands Council is based in Kirkwall at School Place. There is also an auction mart and industrial estate at Hatston. There are several venues in the town for performance including a theatre, community and church halls, hotel function rooms and the Pickaquoy Centre.

Kirkwall dates back to Norse times, in the 11th century, when it was called Kirkjuvagr (church of the bay). At that time the sea lapped at the steps of the cathedral, but now much land has been reclaimed. In 1486 Kirkwall was granted Royal Burgh status by King James III of Scotland.

Orkney Stromness
Quaint closes and narrow old streets huddled between stone buildings of historical interest is the delight that is Stromness. Orkney’s second largest town is an architectural gem that inspires artists and writers and is a favourite with visitors. Those who arrive in Orkney on the ferry from Scrabster near Thurso are treated to the best view of the stone town with its piers, nousts, stores and terraces of houses, watched over by the hill of Brinkie’s Brae. Like Kirkwall, Stromness has one ‘street’ that meanders through the town, changing its name along the route. From the north it runs through Ferry Road, Victoria Street, Graham Place, Dundas Street, Alfred Street, Southend and Ness Road. Look out for Khyber Pass, Hellihole and Rae’s Close, named after Arctic explorer Dr John Rae, going up the hill.

It may be a haven for the arty crowd and festival goers but Stromness is also a working town with useful and interesting shops and all the facilities needed to live, work and play. It is a busy diving destination with several companies offering dive charters. And increasingly Stromness is at the forefront of Orkney’s pioneering renewable energy industry with companies and university students based in the town. Other industries include shellfish processing and a bakery and fudge factory.

According to George Mackay Brown, the late Stromness-based poet and author, the first house in the town was a hostelry on the Cairston shore which was granted a charter in 1580. The safe harbour of Hamnavoe grew as a port and merchant town during the European wars in the 17th to 19th centuries which made the English Channel dangerous. Ships including Captain Cook’s Discovery and Resolution called in 1780 and Sir John Franklin called in before his fatal journey to the Arctic. Hudson’s Bay Company ships took on men, provisions and water at Login’s Well in the town in the 18th and 19th centuries and Arctic whalers from East Coast ports also took on men for the whale fishery in Greenland and Iceland. Famous inhabitants of Stromness included the painter Sir Stanley Cursiter, Isabel Gunn who joined the HBC disguised as a man and Eliza Fraser who was shipwrecked in Australia. Sir Walter Scott based several of his colourful fictional characters on Stromnessians.

Orkney West Mainland
The west mainland of Orkney is home to the Heart of Neolithic Orkney UNESCO World Heritage Site which is one of the most important areas in Britain for archaeological remains. Here are the famous standing stones of Ring of Brodgar and Stenness and Maeshowe burial chamber. The west coast from the cliffs of Black Craig near Stromness up to the tidal historic island of the Brough of Birsay is storm-lashed and stunning with sea stacks, caves, towering cliffs, the Neolithic village of Skara Brae and a gorgeous sandy beach at Skaill Bay. A ten-mile coastal walk takes in all the sites. Sunsets viewed from here are legendary. Inland there are brown trout fishing lochs, bird reserves of moorland and marsh of international importance, Orkney’s only working watermill at Barony Mills, Birsay and several village communities with shops and tearooms. Many craftspeople have their studios in the area.

Orkney tearooms are popular and high quality, many serving lunches, home bakes and high teas. Near the village of Orphir with its Viking church and farmstead is the ferry pier at Houton for car ferries to Lyness in Hoy. Other villages with shops and community centres are Harray, Dounby, Finstown and the more scattered communities of Evie, Rendall and Twatt. The parish of Sandwick is also spread out with farms and country houses. The two farm museums of Kirbuster and Corrigall are in the west too. Birsay has a shop, tearoom, hotel nearby and the ruins of the Earl’s Palace, once the country pile of Robert Stewart, Earl of Orkney, a half brother to Mary, Queen of Scots. His son Patrick, known locally as Black Pat, added to the building. He was executed in 1615 for treason.

The Brough of Birsay can be accessed on foot via a causeway for two hours either side of low tide - tide times are posted at the site and in visitor information centres. It has traces of Pictish buildings, the remains of a Viking monastery and a lighthouse.

Orkney East Mainland
This area east and south east of Kirkwall is cattle country with its low-lying fertile farmland. It may not have a world heritage site but there are plenty of historical sites and attractive villages to explore.

The parish of St Andrews has a well-used community hall and a vibrant school. Near the hall, Mine Howe is a privately owned ancient sunken chamber below a mound. You can descend into the mysterious subterranean space down a steep stone staircase. Archaeologists have speculated about the purpose of the chamber which is surrounded by a ditch.

The area of Tankerness has good beaches for seeing seals and birds such as Arctic terns, and the Loch of Tankerness where oystercatchers, lapwings and curlews breed. The discovery of a charred hazelnut shell in 2007 in a Bronze Age mound in Tankerness was exciting evidence of Mesolithic activity in Orkney and was dated to 6820-6660 BC.

On the road to the peninsula of Deerness is Dingieshowe, a sandy isthmus where a mound is the site of a Viking parliament, known as a ting. Deerness has a shop and scattered dwellings. Drive on to the car park at the Gloup and you can see this blowhole and walk on to the Brough of Deerness if you can brave the narrow cliff track to the site of an early monastery and chapel ruins. Carry on the spectacular cliff path and you reach Mull Head, a scenic headland crowded with seabirds in summer with its World War One gunnery range. Further on again is the Covenanters’ Memorial tower erected to the memory of 200 religious prisoners who were being transported to the American colonies and lost their lives when they were shipwrecked in 1679. More tracks can be followed for a circular route back to the car park.

On the road back to Kirkwall is the harbour village of St Mary’s in Holm which was a prosperous fishing centre for the herring industry. It is now cut off from the North Sea by the Churchill Barriers.

Orkney South Ronaldsay
The largest settlement outside Kirkwall in the east is the attractive harbour village of St Margaret’s Hope on South Ronaldsay, Orkney’s third largest settlement. Here a catamaran ferry runs to Gill’s Bay near John o’ Groats. There is an art gallery and craft shop, hotels, an award-winning restaurant, a golf course and the William Hourston Smiddy Museum. Films and live drama are regularly put on in the Cromarty Hall. In August the Boys’ Ploughing Match and Festival of the Horse is held. There are gentle sandy bays nearby at Sands o’ Wright and at Herston. At Hoxa Head you can look across Scapa Flow to the isle of Flotta and might see porpoises passing by.

South of ‘The Hope’ as far as you can go is Burwick Pier where you can take a foot ferry to John o’ Groats in the summer. Here also is the Tomb of the Eagles, a Neolithic chambered tomb which was found on a farm. The family-owned visitor centre offers a welcoming talk when you can handle artefacts before making your way on a stunning coastal path to the tomb, where eagle talons were found amongst the burial. There is also a Bronze Age burnt mound.

South Ronaldsay is one of the linked South Isles, which are connected to each other by the manmade causeways, the Churchill Barriers, built by Italian prisoners-of-war during World War Two. The linked isles are Glimps Holm, Burray and Lamb Holm - home of the famous Italian Chapel, a work of art created inside two Nissen huts.

Orkney Burray
Burray is a small island linked to the east mainland of Orkney and South Ronaldsay by the Churchill Barriers. Once only accessible by boat and a farming and fishing community, it is now linked by the causeways. It has a population of around 350, a primary school, shop, hotel and harbour where watersports are on offer. Burray has beautiful sandy beaches, great views across Scapa Flow and otters and seals can sometimes be seen from around the fourth barrier.

The Burray Fossil and Heritage Centre housed in old farm buildings is a fascinating place to visit. Fossils from Orkney and around the world are displayed, some 360 million years old. The shop stocks a large range of books on the subject, gemstones, jewellery and toys. The collection was started by Ernest Firth who found fossils in his quarry. Upstairs is the heritage centre which is an important archive for local documents, Burray census records from 1821 to 1901 and photographs. There are displays of objects used by Orcadians and furniture including a boxed bed. There is a reconstruction of an Edwardian room, showing how a typical Orkney house might have looked in the early 1900s, with the family settled around the peat fire.

The community café provides wonderful homebakes. The centre is open in the summer months.

Culture is a way of life in Orkney and brings thousands of visitors a year to enjoy festivals, museums and art galleries.

There is a packed programme of events for many months of the year with internationally acclaimed music, art, lectures and performance. Events such as the Ba' game on Christmas Day and New Year's Day and the Festival of the Horse in August are fairly unique spectacles.

Award-winning galleries and museums are also magnets to our shores for culture vultures.

Orkney Islands

The Orkney archipelago of around 70 islands is scattered across a pristine sea with 20 inhabited islands, each with its own distinct character.

Exploration by ferry or plane is a journey of adventure through history, natural beauty and culture while island folk are known for their warm welcome to visitors and new settlers.

The North Isles have close-knit communities and unique ways of life from farming the famous North Ronaldsay sheep to working towards energy self-sufficiency in Westray.

While in the South Isles, Flotta is known for its oil and Hoy for its wartime history, hillwalking and its Old Man rock stack.

Scheduled ferry services operated by Pentland and Northlink Ferries sail between the mainland and the Orkney Islands.

Northlink Ferries sail between Lerwick in Shetland, Hatston Pier, Kirkwall and Aberdeen. A shorter option is the Northlink Scrabster to Stromness (90 minutes) route. A quicker option again is the Pentland Ferries catamaran from Gill’s Bay, near John o’ Groats to St Margaret’s Hope in South Ronaldsay (1 hour).

A third ferry operator, John O' Groats, offers an inter island and sightseeing ferry service.

Click Here to book Orkney Island ferry tickets Map of Orkney Islands


Best available Orkney Islands Ferry ticket price gurantee

Best Orkney Islands Ferry Ticket Price Guarantee

Best Price Guarantee - We always offer you our lowest available Orkney Islands Ferry ticket price and there are no hidden extras or surprises such as added fuel surcharges or booking fees and we also we do not charge you anything extra for paying with a Visa Electron card. The price we quote for your selected Orkney Islands Ferry to or from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries, onboard accommodation and vehicle type is all you will pay, and that's a promise!

In the unlikely event you find the same all inclusive Orkney Islands Ferry ticket cheaper in the brochure of any other tour operator we promise that we will do our best to beat that price or offer you the choice of requesting a refund. To book Orkney Islands Ferry tickets please click here.


Click Here to contact the Orkney Islands Ferry customer care team at ferryto.com

Customer Care, Telesales & Contact Us

At ferryto.com you are able to obtain live Orkney Islands Ferry ticket prices, check availability and book Orkney Islands Ferry car and passenger ferry tickets to and from the Orkney Island ferry ports of Kirkwall, St Margarets Hope and Stromness with Northlink and Pentland Ferries at our lowest available ticket price.

Ferryto.com is part of the world's largest online ferry ticket distribution network providing the ability to book over 80 major European ferry operators including with Orkney Islands Ferry to over 1,200 ferry routes throughout the UK, France, Spain, Ireland, Holland, Eastern Europe, the Mediterranean, the Baltic and North Africa.

For more information, answers to frequently asked questions or to contact us directly please click here.


Site Map

Design and Hosting by Transworld Leisure Limited..  Copyright is Reserved. 

Powered by The Travel Gateway